WoW 2011 – UBC, Vancouver

June 1-3, 2011
The first CREATE-WoW Symposium took place from Wednesday evening, June 1 to Friday evening, June 3, 2011, on the UBC-Vancouver campus. The conference was largely oriented towards student and post-doctoral research and was organized by CREATE-WoW graduate students, Grant McNair, Caitlin Donnelly, and Gabriel Levesque-Tremblay.

Invited Speakers

  • Simon Turner, University of Manchester
  • Clint Chapple, Purdue University
  • Taku Demura, RIKEN and NAIST
  • Debra Mohnen, CCRC, University of Georgia

Group Photo of Symposium Attendees

WoW Symposium Group Photo

June 1
16:00-18:30 Registration, Michael Smith Building lobby
18:30-20:30 Reception, Beaty Biodiversity Museum, Blue Whale Exhibit
June 2
8:45-9:00 Welcoming remarks, Jim Kronstad, Director, Michael Smith Labs; Caitlin Donnelly, WoW graduate student
9:00-10:00 Keynote address, Simon Turner, University of Manchester, Analysis of carbohydrate biosynthesis in the Arabidopsis secondary cell wall
10:00-10:30 Coffee break
10:30-10:50 Hardy Hall, Molecular phenotyping of cell wall expansion in Arabidopsis inflorescence stems
10:50-11:10 Melissa Roach, Carbohydrate partitioning to wood development and cell wall biosynthesis in hybrid aspen
11:10-11:30 Lenka Plavcova, Homgalacturonans in the pit membrane annulus may influence xylem vulnerability to embolism
11:30-11:50 Bjoern Usadel, Seed mucilage synthesis: Screening for novel pectin mutants using an EMS population
11:50-12:10 Jonathan Griffiths, CESA-6 like cellulose synthases are involved in secondary cell wall biosynthesis and mucilage adherence properties in Arabidopsis seed epidermal cells
12:10-13:30 Lunch
13:30-14:30 Invited speaker, Debra Mohnen, CCRC, University of Georgia, Pectin biosynthesis: a surprisingly complex story with protein complexes, protein processing and multiple GAUT proteins
14:30-14:50 Miki Fujita, Cortical microtubules influence cellulose synthase movement and the proportion of crystalline cellulose in rapidly elongating cells
14:50-15:10 Oliver Corea, Specific Arabidopsis arogenate dehydratase isoforms are involved in biosynthesis of phenylalanine as a precursor for lignin
15:10-15:30 Coffee break
15:30-15:50 Vaibhav Srivastava, Expression of an oomycete chitin synthase gene in Arabidopsis and production of chitin in transformed plants
15:50-16:10 Teagen Quilichini, A perplexing biopolymer: how autofluorescence is uncovering clues to sporopollenin composition and assembly
16:10-16:30 Mathias Schuetz, Monolignol export and plant cell wall lignification
16:30-18:30 Poster session and barbecue
June 3
9:00-10:00 Invited speaker, Taku Demura, RIKEN and NAIST, Key transcription factors regulating secondary cell wall formation
10:00-10:30 Coffee break
10:30-10:50 Michael Deyholos, Requirement for matrix polysaccharides in G-type secondary wall development
10:50-11:10 Bjoern Usadel, Nucleotide sugar profiling reveals activation of the myo-inositol sugar pathway in carbon-starved Arabidopsis plants
11:10-11:30 Rebecca Smith, Good neighbours: the co-operative model during lignification
11:30-11:50 Sacha Escamez, Plant PIRIN proteins are working on walls by regulating the late xylem maturation
11:50-12:10 Catalin Voiniciuc, The Arabidopsis FLYING SAUCERS gene encodes a membrane protein required for connections to the cell wall
12:10-13:30 Lunch
13:30-14:30 Invited speaker, Clint Chapple, Purdue University, Is dwarfism an obligatory phenotype in lignin down-regulated plants?
14:30-14:50 Elahe Esfandiari, Identification and analysis of seed coat epidermal-specific promoter in Arabidopsis thaliana and Brassica napus
14:50-15:10 Jean-Etienne Bassard, Investigations on protein-membrane and protein-protein interactions upstream of the phenylpropanoid pathway in Arabidopsis thaliana
15:10-15:30 Coffee break
15:30-15:50 Mihaela Voicu, The development of molecular resources for improving the fibre characteristics of industrial hemp (Cannabis sativa L.)
15:50-16:10 Gabriel Levesque-Tremblay, Identification of seed coat mucilage cohesiveness mutant in Arabidopsis thaliana
16:10-16:30 Break (judges will meet to decide award winners)
16:30 Awards – best student poster and oral presentation